A Pinhole Instant Camera for the "Peroxide Reversal Process"

Some time ago I printed with my "ENDER 3" a small pinhole camera with the idea to develop the picture directly inside the camera, using the "Peroxide Reversal Process".

The camera measures 75mm x 75mm, focus length is 50mm. I made a simple 0,5mm pinhole using a beer can and a needle.

For the process I work with ILFORD RC Glossy and I expose 4 times longer than usual, means with ISO 1,5 instead ISO 6.

Developing is simple: After exposure I add 25ml of fresh developer into the camera for 2 minutes. After that I add water to rinse the print. Then I fill 25ml of Peroxide 15% with 2% citric acid powder in it into the camera and bleach the print for 5 minutes. Be careful when you handle Peroxide!! Use a goggle and gloves.

After the 5 minutes of bleaching you can open the camera, get rid of the Peroxide and expose the print to the light. Fill in water again to rinse the print. You will see a fade positive image now. Now add developer again until the picture looks perfect and the blacks are developed. After a short wash you fix the picture as usual. If you don't fix it, the whites will turn yellow after some minutes....

Please note: This alternative process is not always stable...  but it's fun to experiment with this formula...

Write a comment

Comments: 0