· 

Analog "Photoshop" Experiments

Last weekend was really bad weather. No chance to go out to take some photographs with my Afghan Box Camera. So I had the idea to make some experiments in my lab. I picked an older paper negative I made with my old LÖBER field camera from 1896 and made a contact print to vintage FOMA 312 paper. Instead to develop in the developer tray I took a cotton ball which I dipped before in developer and splashed some drops over the paper. After 10 seconds I started to put more developer with the cotton ball into the area of the face. While you can observe how the picture appears you can dip with the cotton ball all the areas you want to have more visible. When you like your creation you fix the print and wash it.

I like this way of developing prints, because each time you end up with a completely different result. The whole process is completely chemical and randomly...  and that's what I like on this process.

Write a comment

Comments: 0